Prospective All Party Parliamentary Group on Land Value Capture

Prospective All Party Parliamentary Group on Land Value Capture

Minutes of Organisational Meeting


Held at Portcullis House, Meeting Room P

Monday, 4th December 2017, 6PM-7PM

Present: Sir Vince Cable MP (Libdem), Kevin Hollinrake MP (Con), Tony Lloyd MP (Lab), Baroness Jenny Jones (Green). Baroness Alison Suttie (Libdem), Ruth Cadbury MP (Labour), Caroline Lucas MP (Green)

In attendance: Joe Bourke, Chair of ALTER, member organization of the Coalition for Economic Justice.


1.            Opening Welcome

Sir Vince Cable MP welcomed all members to the organizational meeting, noting that Notice of Meeting was published in the All Party Notices on 30 November. As less than one week’s notice of a inaugural APPG meeting has been posted, the formal inaugural meeting to elect officers will need to be reconvened early in the new year and notice posted in the APN’s to be published in January 2018.

 ACTION – (Joe Bourke)Secretariat and Alex Davies


2.            Apologies were received from Sir Ed Davey,  Nick Boles MP, Chris Williamson MP, Lord Chis Fox and Lord Matthew Taylor

3.            Admission of Members and election of officers:

Parliamentary members consenting to register as members of the APPG were noted as follows:

    MPs - Sir Vince Cable, Richard Bacon, Ruth Cadbury, Caroline Lucas, Sir Ed Davey, Kevin Hollinrake , Tony Lloyd, Kelvin Hopkins, Nick Boles, Chris Williamson, Stephen Lloyd.

    Peers - Lord Fox, Lord Taylor of Goss Moor, Baroness Alison Suttie, Baroness Jenny Jones


Members consenting to act as officers of the APPG were noted as follows:

    Chair and Registered Contact: Sir Vince Cable MP


    Richard Bacon MP, Ruth Cadbury MP, Caroline Lucas MP

    Sir Ed Davey MP, Kevin Hollinrake MP


4.            Statement of Purpose - the following statement was approved for submission to the register following the reconvened inaugural meeting:

To work in partnership with national and local government departments, land developers and others to create a forum for Parliamentarians and interested stakeholders to discuss and develop innovative proposals to capture increases in land value, for the public benefit.


5.            Appointment of secretariat:

The Coalition for Economic Justice (a cross-party coalition of political groups, think tanks and charities) was confirmed as the groups’ secretariat.


6.            Aims and objectives: The following objectives were adopted:

The overall aim of the APPG on Land Value Capture is to be recognised as an influential and effective partner in the area of Land Value Capture for the public benefit; so as to ensure political commitment from the UK government and other sources to address the issues arising from shortages in the supply of land and necessary infrastructure for housing and its impacts on inequality and poverty in society.


            Key objectives include:


7.            Agreement of Topics for next and future meetings

Members present requested a briefing paper be prepared and circulated as a preliminary step to organising a City Mayors Conference on Land Value Capture. The paper should focus on examples of where the concept of Land Value Capture has been successfully applied.

Invitee’s should include representatives from regions that do not currently have a Mayor including the West Yorkshire Combined Authority.

Prospective date for Mayor’s conference Wednesday, 21 March, 2018 from 2pm – TBC.


ACTION – Secretariat


8.            Any Other Business

                 A Reception for Parliamentarians and Invited guests was held in the Attlee Suite, Portcullis House. Guests were addressed by Sir Vince Cable, Baroness Jenny Jones and David Drew MP (Transcript of speeches attached).